Chocolate chip chia cookies

I’m always on the lookout for yummy, won’t-make-you-regret-it desserts. A lot of the time, there’s a disconnect – somebody, once upon a time, decreed that the standard is to taste pretty good, for being healthy.

I dunno about you, but that phrase has about 97% effectiveness for steering me away from trying the recipe. Sometimes healthy food isn’t meant to taste like its high-fat, high-carb, glycemic-spiking cousins – and that’s a good thing! Different times call for different munchies.

These cookies, however, are exactly what you want from a chocolate chip vehicle. So good that I’d go as far as saying I could eat them without the chocolate chips. Unprecedented, really.

image
Stellar food photography skills

The Ambitious Kitchen has some great in-depth nutritional analysis, but just know these cookies have hella omega-3s, fiber, and protein, making it a cookie that actually gives you something you need, instead of empty calories and sugar.

I used a mixture of cashews, walnuts, and pecans, because my mom has an almond sensitivity. I’m fairly certain you can sub in whatever nuts you want for the walnuts/almonds, as long as you keep the amount consistent. Same goes for the dried cherries – I used raisins.

image

I’d recommend you use slightly under 1/4 cup chocolate if you go the route I went, using Enjoy Life’s MEGA CHUNKS (I don’t know, it just seems like it needed emphasis).

image
These are actually a phenomenal chocolate chip option.

Anyway, these cookies have the official stamp of approval. Definitely try them out!

Until next time, keep your boots in the stars and your heart in the trees.

Leave a Reply

